Reading Blog 10- The Final but not finale.

Pg 104-105

Was I asleep while the others suffered? Am I sleeping now? Tomorrow when I wake, or think I do, what shall I say of today? That with Estragon my friend, at this place, until the fall of night, I waited for Godot? That Pozzo passed, with his carrier, and that he spoke to us? Probably. But in all that what truth will there be? (Talking about the sleeping Estragon) He’ll know nothing. He’ll tell me about the blows he received and I’ll give him a carrot. Astride of a grave and a difficult birth. Down in the hole, lingeringly, the grave digger puts on the forceps. We have time to grow old. The air is full of our cries. But habit is a great deadener. At me too someone is looking, of me too someone is saying, He is sleeping, he knows nothing, let him sleep on. I can’t go on!

A somewhat of a continuation of last learning log but a few pages ahead, the speech holds a similar meaning. Vladimir is obviously irritated at his partner who keeps falling in and out of sleep. Be in the condition of utter clueless ness and physiological destitution, Estragon is not able to relieve him of his agony.  He wonders if he is the same way when everyone else is in this state, sleeping and useless.

            He goes on to say that sure he is living and doing things daily, but that his actions are no different than the day before, therefore he didn’t do much of anything. He says the most cliché thing in the most beautiful way: Astride of a grave and a difficult birth, the gravedigger puts on the forceps. He is saying we are born only to die.  

            He brings back the topic of distraction from death and all the terrible thoughts using habit then says that he is just as clueless as everyone else, even the sleeping Estragon.
Jose M
11/1/2012 09:06:22 am

I have never thought how helpful I am to another person through their set of eyes like Vladimir have done. It's so easy to judge someone else other than yourself. I can understand the frustration Vladimir is experiencing but Vladimir should understand his inner peace can only be reach by him and not by his partner, Estragon.

Reply



Leave a Reply.