In the romance of my younger years, Gnosicism was an unnamed longing for me. I had spent numerous hours talking and thinking about how much I wished to expel myself into poverty inorder to find enlightenment. Gnosticism is where you free yourself of material things, practice sexual abstinance, and stray away from hedenistic pleasurs. I had heard though the grapevine that it had been done before. Buddhists, for one month of their teenage years, were rumored (in some country or another) to purposeful become homeless and would spend everyday of that month praying and accepting donations from the passerbyers. When I heard of such things my eyes glazed over with inspiration.

Gnosicism has been apart of religious for about as long as religion has been around. Some aspects of Ancient Egyptian Religion could be considered Gnosicist and it is littered in Zoroaustrian religions, Jud-Christian religions, and Ancient Greek philosophy. Gnosicism survived to the modern ages in some secs of Christianity and in Romantic literature in the 19th century and even some philosophers of the 20th century wrote on the subject.  



Leave a Reply.